Teaching Comparative Government and Politics

Saturday, March 21, 2009

Happy New Year, again

The Bahá'í calendar, also called the Badí‘ calendar, used by the Bahá'í Faith, is a solar calendar with regular years of 365 days, and leap years of 366 days. Years are composed of 19 months of 19 days each, (361 days) plus an extra period of "Intercalary Days" (4 in regular and 5 in leap years). Years in the calendar begin at the vernal equinox, and are counted with the date notation of BE (Bahá'í Era), with March 21, 1844 CE being the first day of the first year.[1] The period from March 21, 2008 to March 20, 2009 is the year 165 BE.

From the Bahai website: "Throughout history, God has revealed Himself to humanity through a series of divine Messengers, whose teachings guide and educate us and provide the basis for the advancement of human society. These Messengers have included Abraham, Krishna, Zoroaster, Moses, Buddha, Jesus, and Muhammad. Their religions come from the same Source and are in essence successive chapters of one religion from God.

"Bahá’u’lláh, the latest of these Messengers, brought new spiritual and social teachings for our time. His essential message is of unity. He taught the oneness of God, the oneness of the human family, and the oneness of religion..."

Because Muslims believe Muhammad was the final prophet, Bahai believers, who follow the teachings of a later prophet, are not considered people of the book and in Iran are subject to official persecution under sharia and secular laws.

What You Need to Know -- a study guide for AP Comparative Government and Poltiics

Labels: ,


Post a Comment

<< Home