Teaching Comparative Government and Politics

Sunday, August 01, 2010

Nigerian National Assembly on the web (again)

Under President Obasanjo, a panoply of government web sites were created in Nigeria. However, the necessities and funding for maintenance and update were evidently not included in the contracts for building the web sites. Some are still online, but most haven't been updated for a long time.

Now, there's a new site for the National Assembly. According to Jeremy Weate, writing on his blog, Naijablog, it's not complete. There is access to bills from the Senate, but not from the House. However, it does offer potential for research. Ask your students to see what they can learn.

Welcome to the National Assembly of the Federal Republic of Nigeria!
The National Assembly is Nigeria’s bicameral legislature and the highest elective law-making body of the country. It consists of the 109-member Senate and the 360-member House of Representatives. The term of the National Assembly is 4-years from the date of its first sitting after the general elections. The current 6th National Assembly was inaugurated in 5th June 2007. This site will give you an overview of members of both Chambers of the National Assembly, their Committees and the legislative activities of the Parliament.

Teaching Comparative blog entries are indexed.

Find out What You Need to Know

Labels: , ,


Post a Comment

<< Home